Vera Mercer: New Works

new book "New Works" - available now through DCV

In a pop-up exhibition on the weekend of 6–7 November 2021, Berlin-born photographer Vera Mercer showed a selection of her New Works – consisting of exquisite inkjet and platinum prints – at Villa Heike in Berlin. She also presented her new book of the same name, and published by DCV in Berlin.

Vera Mercer wowed international audiences a little over ten years ago with her lush, neo-baroque still life color photography. The photographs are populated by drinking vessels and vases, fruits and mushrooms, cutlery, and animal cadavers – be they recently deceased or merely the outer shell. Candlesticks also make an appearance, fitted with fresh or worn-down candles, alongside Mercer’s ever recurring flower blossoms, which occasionally lose their petals along the way. While some of the dead animals featured in the still lifes seem only to be asleep, others look as if they have recently been exhumed – offering new, more radical vanitas studies bridging beauty and transience, the perennial dualism we sense throughout Vera Mercer’s work.

Although some of her New Works are now darker and more somber than they were a few years ago, the photographer remains true to her still-life-based photography, which she realizes in multifaceted arrangements at her homes in Omaha and Paris.

Vera Mercer: New Works

Neues Buch "New Works" - jetzt erhältlich über DCV

In einer Pop-Up-Ausstellung – am Wochenende 6. und 7. November 2021 – präsentierte die gebürtige Berliner Fotografin Vera Mercer einige ihrer neuen Inkjet- und Platinum Prints in der Villa Heike in Berlin. Parallel präsentierte sie ihr neues gleichnamiges Buch, erschienen bei DCV in Berlin.

International bekannt wurde Vera Mercer vor gut zehn Jahren durch ihre üppigen, neobarocken Farb-Stillleben: Sie enthalten Gläser und Vasen, Früchte und Pilze, Silberbesteck oder tote Tiere, mal frisch erlegt, mal steht eine übrig gebliebene Hülle stellvertretend für eine verstorbene Kreatur. Zudem arrangiert sie Kerzenständer mit frischen oder fast heruntergebrannten Kerzen, dazu immer wieder Blumen, die teilweise schon Blütenblätter verlieren. Doch während manche der toten Tiere auf den Stillleben weiterhin aussehen, als würden sie schlafen, muten andere eher an, als wären sie gerade exhumiert worden; so entstehen neue, radikalere Vanitas-Studien zwischen Schönheit und Vergänglichkeit, diesem immerwährenden Dualismus in Vera Mercers Werk.

Obwohl einige ihrer “New Works” inzwischen etwas düsterer und morbider ausfallen als noch vor einigen Jahren, bleibt sich die Fotografin in ihrer stilllebenbasierten Fotografie treu, die sie in ihren Wohnorten Omaha und Paris in immer neuen Arrangements realisiert.