Nadine Dinter: Torso Reloaded

Opening: 1 October 2022, 8 pm // HAZEGALLERY, Berlin

The solo exhibition Torso Reloaded by Nadine Dinter opens at HAZEGALLERY in Berlin on 1 October 2022. Dinter developed the concept in 2012 while working with New York photographer Christopher Makos, a long-time companion of Andy Warhol. For his exhibition Andy Dandy and Other Works, which Nadine Dinter curated at galerie hiltawsky, Makos traveled with, among others, former erotic art model and current tattoo artist Benjamin Godfre, who turned out to be a passionate Warhol fan. Dinter and Godfre spontaneously decided to photographically recreate Warhol’s legendary Torso series from 1977.

Exactly ten years later, the photographer has taken up the idea once again. While Warhol’s spirit continues to be the inspiration, Dinter’s latest project shines the spotlight on the different body types of the current generation of men.

Alongside the first torso she photographed, of Benjamin Godfre, her images portray six representative men – from the professional model Benjamin Kühnemund and the photographer Traegi to a wrestler, a fitness instructor, a computer scientist, and fellow photographer Alexander Schuktuew. While Warhol mainly photographed the front and back of male models in a tight close-up shot, Nadine Dinter’s wider framing gives them more space, adding impact to individual characteristics such as tattoos, scars, and musculature. As a result, the bodies seem close enough to touch without being overtly sexualized. These contemplative body shots were taken in an intimate hotel atmosphere using only natural lighting between January and April 2022. Each picture tells its own story, transforming the bare image into a unique photographic profile.

The exhibition Torso Reloaded also addresses the female gaze on the male body, while documenting the photographer’s exploration of the body cult in contemporary society. All of the images from 2022 were taken with a Leica SL2.

About the photographer: Nadine Dinter started working as a photographer in 1991, initially focusing on images of sculptures and portraiture. Her first exhibition was in 1998 at Schering AG. Further presentations of her photographic works in Berlin and New York followed: Project Angel + Project Angel Reloaded (2001, NYC), Essence of Winter (2002, NYC), In the Eye of the Beholder (2004, Berlin), and Janus-Faced (2013, Berlin). From 2006 she worked as a freelance photographer for various publications. She has been represented by akg-images since 2000. More information: @dinterphotography

About the gallery: HAZEGALLERY was founded in 2019 with the mission of sharing Berlin’s young contemporary art scene with the world through exhibitions, pop-up shows, and art gatherings. More information: www.haze.gallery

Nadine Dinter: Torso Reloaded

Eröffnung: 1. Oktober 2022, 20.00 Uhr // HAZEGALLERY, Berlin

Am 1. Oktober 2022 eröffnet die Solo Show „Torso Reloaded“ von Nadine Dinter in der Berliner HAZEGALLERY. Das Konzept wurde bereits 2012 anlässlich der Zusammenarbeit mit dem New Yorker Fotografen Christopher Makos, einem langjährigen Wegbegleiter Andy Warhols, entwickelt. Für seine von Nadine Dinter kuratierte Ausstellung „Andy Dandy and Other Works“ in der galerie hiltawsky reiste Makos u.a. mit dem früheren Erotic-Art-Model und heutigen Tattoo Artist Benjamin Godfre an, der sich wiederum als großer Warhol-Fan entpuppte. Dinter und Godfre beschlossen kurzerhand, Warhols legendäre „Torso“-Serie aus dem Jahr 1977 fotografisch nachzuempfinden.

Exakt zehn Jahre später nimmt die Fotografin die Idee wieder auf. Zwar steht weiterhin Warhols Geist Pate, allerdings geht es darüber hinaus um die unterschiedlichen Körpertypen und deren individuelle Inszenierungen als Teil der heutigen Männergeneration.

Gezeigt werden, neben dem allersten Torso von Benjamin Godfre, exemplarisch sechs Männer – vom professionellen Fotomodel Benjamin Kühnemund und dem Fotografen Traegi über einen Wrestler, einen Fitness-Instruktor, einen Computer-Scientist bis hin zum Fotografen-Kollege Alexander Schuktuew. Während Warhol jedoch primär die „Vorder- und Rückseite“ der männlichen Modelle im engen Close-Up fotografierte, zieht Nadine Dinter den Ausschnitt weiter auf, um den Besonderheiten wie Tätowierungen, Narben und Formungen mehr Platz und Wirkung einzuräumen. So scheinen die Körper zum Anfassen nahe, ohne eine sexuelle Handlung abzubilden. In einer intimen Hotel-Atmosphäre und lediglich im Tageslicht entstanden zwischen Januar und April 2022 diese ruhigen Körperaufnahmen, von denen jede ihre eigene Geschichte erzählt und auf diese Weise die blanke Abbildung zum fotografischen Steckbrief werden lässt.

Die Ausstellung Torso Reloaded untersucht den „Female Gaze“ auf den männlichen Körper und begleitet die Fotografin bei der exemplarischen Bestandsaufnahme des aktuellen Körperkults. Alle 2022-Bilder wurden mit der Leica SL2 aufgenommen.

Über die Fotografin: Nadine Dinter fotografiert seit 1991, im Fokus ihrer Arbeit standen zunächst die Genres Skulpturen- und Portraitfotografie. Erste Ausstellung 1998 bei der Schering AG. Weitere Fotopräsentationen in Berlin und New York folgten: „Project Angel“ + „Project Angel Reloaded“ (2001, NYC), „Essence of Winter“ (2002, NYC), „In the eye of the beholder“ (2004, Berlin) und „Janus-Faced“ (2013, Berlin), parallel dazu ab 2006 Auftragsfotografie für diverse Publikationen; Repräsentanz durch akg-images seit dem Jahr 2000. Mehr unter: @dinterphotography

Über die Galerie: Die HAZEGALLERY wurde 2019 gegründet. Ihr Ziel ist es, die junge zeitgenössische Kunstszene Berlins durch Ausstellungen, Pop-Up-Shows und Kunst-Gatherings in die Welt zu tragen.