Magnum Photos. The Misfits

through 20 November 2022 // Project room of the Helmut Newton Foundation, Berlin

On 2 September 2022, Magnum Photos. The Misfits opened in the project room of the Helmut Newton Foundation as the second parallel exhibition to the extensive main exhibition HOLLYWOOD on the museum’s upper level. With The Misfits, we look back to an important era of major film productions. Arthur Miller’s play was filmed by John Huston in 1960 with a star-studded cast, and nearly all of the Magnum members took photographs on its set in Reno. This was the first and only such occasion with this combination of participants. We see Marilyn concentrating on her lines in a shot by Inge Morath, Montgomery Clift in the rear of a car, photographed by Dennis Stock, and the famous group shot with the actors and actresses flanked by the director and writer, photographed by Elliott Erwitt. In addition, the exhibition brings together photographs from the film set by Henri Cartier-Bresson, Bruce Davidson, Cornell Capa, Ernst Haas, and Erich Hartmann – in short, a who’s who of the history of photography at that time.

The Magnum members make us posthumous witnesses to the making of a Hollywood classic while remaining almost invisible during their work. This marks a shift from the staged star photos of earlier times, carried out on behalf of the major film studios, which we encounter in the HOLLYWOOD exhibition on the upper floor, and a decisive development in the visualization of cinema.

Some of The Misfits images by Inge Morath and Eve Arnold are also on display in the main exhibition, opposite set photographs by Steve Schapiro, who accompanied Polanski’s film Chinatown in the mid-1970s. In a way, these serve as a link to the display of nearly 50 black & white images in the Project Room on the museum’s ground floor.

With the main exhibition on the upper level of the museum, we look back on some 100 years to Hollywood’s pioneering days: from the early star portraits of the 1920s and ‘30s, taken by Ruth Harriet Louise and George Hurrell, to contemporary Hollywood, with portraits by Anton Corbijn, among others. The cineaste Helmut Newton – born in Berlin in 1920 and who always serves as the point of departure and reference for such group exhibitions at the foundation – bridges the Old and the New Worlds with his Hollywood portraits, including those of émigré filmmakers.

Magnum Photos. The Misfits

bis 20. November 2022 // Projektraum der Helmut Newton Stiftung, Berlin

Am 2. September 2022 eröffnete mit „Magnum Photos. The Misfits“ die zweite Parallel-Ausstellung zur umfangreichen Hauptausstellung „HOLLYWOOD im ersten Stock der Helmut Newton Stiftung. Mit „The Misfits“ blicken wir zurück in die bedeutende Zeit großer Filmproduktionen. Arthur Millers Stück wurde 1960 von John Huston in Starbesetzung verfilmt, und nahezu alle damaligen Magnum-Mitglieder haben am Set in Reno fotografiert. Das geschah erstmals und einmalig in dieser Kombination. Wir sehen Marilyn Monroe, wie sie sich auf ihren Text konzentriert, in einer Aufnahme von Inge Morath, Montgomery Clift im Fonds eines Autos, aufgenommen von Dennis Stock, oder die berühmte Gruppenaufnahme mit den Schauspielern und Schauspielrinnen, flankiert vom Regisseur und Autor, fotografiert von Elliott Erwitt. Darüber hinaus vereint die Ausstellung auch Aufnahmen vom Film-Set von Henri Cartier-Bresson, Bruce Davidson, Cornell Capa, Ernst Haas, und Erich Hartmann, kurzum: ein Who’s Who der damaligen Fotografie-Geschichte.

Die Magnum-Mitglieder machen uns Nachgeborene zu Zeugen der Entstehung eines Hollywood-Klassikers, und sie selbst blieben bei der Arbeit anscheinend beinahe unsichtbar. Das ist ein Bruch mit der Starinszenierung früherer Zeiten, im Auftrag der großen Filmstudios, der wir in der Hollywood-Ausstellung im ersten Stock begegnen, und eine entscheidende Weiterentwicklung in der Visualisierung des Kinos.

Dort hängen auch einige „The Misfits“-Aufnahmen von Inge Morath und Eve Arnold, gegenüber anderen Set-Fotografien von Steve Schapiro, der Mitte der 1970er-Jahre Roman Polanskis Film „Chinatown“ begleitet hat, und legen gewissermaßen eine Fährte zur ergänzenden Ausstellung mit knapp 50 S/W-Aufnahmen im Projektraum im Erdgeschoss des Museums.

Mit der Hauptausstellung im ersten Stock des Museums blicken wir etwa 100 Jahre zurück, in die Pionierzeit Hollywoods, von den frühen Starporträts der 1920er und 30er-Jahre, aufgenommen von Ruth Harriet Louise und George Hurrell, bis in die heutige Zeit Hollywoods, beispielsweise mit Porträts von Anton Corbijn. Auch der Cineast Helmut Newton, 1920 in Berlin geboren und stets Ausgangs- und Bezugspunkt solcher Gruppenausstellung, verbindet mit seinen Hollywood-Porträts, u.a. der Emigranten unter den Filmschaffenden, die Alte und die Neue Welt.