HELMUT NEWTON ONE HUNDRED

26 October - 8 November 2020, on Köpenicker Straße 70 + at the Helmut Newton Foundation

On 31 October 2020 Helmut Newton would have been 100 years old. His foundation was established in Berlin-Charlottenburg in the fall of 2003, and then opened in the summer of 2004; since then it has presented more than 50 exhibitions. Now, the Helmut Newton Foundation in Berlin is taking this special anniversary as an occasion to celebrate the exceptional photographer – for the first time by presenting his legendary, timeless, and innovative work in a large public outdoor exhibition in Berlin.

Helmut Newton was born in 1920, the son of a Jewish button manufacturer in Berlin-Schöneberg. From 1936 to 1938 he trained as a photographer under the renowned fashion photographer, Yva; his first self-portraits were created in her studio in Schlüterstrasse. But soon thereafter, Newton had to flee Berlin. One of the last buildings he saw as his train left Zoo Station for Trieste was the military casino on Jebensstrasse. 65 years later, this building became home to his foundation and archives, where the work of Helmut and his wife June (a.k.a. Alice Springs), is presented in regularly changing exhibitions. Despite the tragic circumstances under which Newton left Berlin, the city remained close to his heart. He often returned to his hometown to take pictures on behalf of various magazines. For the second issue of German Vogue in 1979, for example, he created a photographic homage to the places of his youth in Berlin.

In memory of Newton’s time in Berlin and his exceptional work, the Helmut Newton Foundation will present a large outdoor exhibition along the 85-meter-long wall at Kraftwerk Berlin on Köpenicker Strasse 70, in the Kreuzberg district. On view from 26 October to November 2020, the exhibition will be publicly accessible 24/7. Some 30 images from all of Newton’s creative periods have been selected for this temporary show, HELMUT NEWTON ONE HUNDRED. Additionally, 250 City Light posters depicting Newton’s work will be on display during this time throughout Berlin, with the generous support of WALL. Never before has Newton’s work been seen in this way.

HELMUT NEWTON ONE HUNDRED

31. Okt. - 8. Nov. 2020, in der Köpenicker Straße 70 & in der Helmut Newton Stiftung

Am 31. Oktober 2020 wäre Helmut Newton 100 Jahre alt geworden. Im Herbst 2003 wurde seine Stiftung in Berlin-Charlottenburg gegründet und im Sommer 2004 eröffnet; seitdem wurden hier mehr als 50 Ausstellungen präsentiert. Dieses besondere Jubiläum nimmt die Helmut Newton Stiftung zum Anlass, den Ausnahmefotografen zu ehren, indem sein legendäres und zeitlos innovatives Œuvre erstmals und frei zugänglich in einer großen Outdoor-Ausstellung im Berliner Stadtraum präsentiert wird.

1920 als Sohn eines jüdischen Knopffabrikanten in Berlin-Schöneberg geboren, ließ sich Newton zwischen 1936 und 1938 von der renommierten Modefotografin Yva zum Fotografen ausbilden. In ihrem Studio in der Schlüterstraße entstanden seine ersten Selbstporträts, doch wenig später musste Newton aus Berlin fliehen. Eines der letzten Gebäude, die er beim Verlassen des Bahnhof Zoos in Richtung Triest sah, war das Militärkasino in der Jebensstraße. Dort sollte viele Jahre später seine Stiftung entstehen, sein Archiv lagern und sein eigenes Werk sowie das seiner Frau June (alias Alice Springs) in wechselnden Ausstellungen gezeigt werden. Trotz der tragischen Umstände, unter denen Newton Berlin verlassen musste, blieb Berlin in seinem Herzen, und er kehrte regelmäßig in seine Heimatstadt zurück. So produzierte er 1979 für die zweite Ausgabe der VOGUE Deutschland beispielsweise eine fotografische Hommage an die Orte seiner Jugend.

Als Erinnerung an Newtons Berliner Zeit und sein außergewöhnliches Werk präsentiert die Helmut Newton Stiftung eine große Outdoor-Ausstellung auf der 85m langen Wand am Kraftwerk in Berlin-Kreuzberg, Köpenicker Straße 70; zu sehen vom 26. Oktober bis 8. November 2020, rund um die Uhr. Etwa 30 Motive aus allen Schaffensperioden Newtons sind für die temporäre Präsentation HELMUT NEWTON ONE HUNDRED ausgewählt worden. So und in solchen Bildformaten war Helmut Newton noch nie in Berlin zu sehen. Parallel werden 250 City-Light-Plakate in ganz Berlin mit Newton-Motiven bespielt, mit großzügiger Unterstützung von WALL.