Greg Gorman. It´s Not About Me

through 15 December 2021 // IMMAGIS ART PHOTOGRAPHY, Munich

On 30 September 2021, the Munich-based gallery IMMAGIS opened the new exhibition, It’s Not About Me by iconic photographer Greg Gorman, curated from his bestselling book of the same name, published in 2020. A first showing of select images from this extensive retrospective monograph took place this spring at his US gallery, Fahey/Klein; the new show at IMMAGIS ART PHOTOGRAPHY this fall marks the first exhibition curated from the book, shown abroad.

Gorman is famed for his stunning and memorable images. Over the past 50 years, the Los Angeles-based photographer has created a distinctive and impressive body of portrait photography. His secret: mastering the light and focusing entirely on his subject. As the exhibition title suggests, it’s not about the photographer, although it is…

The list of depicted stars speaks for itself, from Keanu Reeves, Laura Dern, John Waters, Sophia Loren, and Al Pacino to Tom Waits, Alfred Hitchcock, Hugh Jackman, David Hockney, and Johnny Depp, as well as Leonardo DiCaprio, Sharon Stone, Michael Jackson, Brad Pitt, Robert De Niro, and Marina Abramović – to name just a few. And of course, a special section is devoted to his special longtime friends, David Bowie, Grace Jones, and Elton John, whom he recently portrayed again.

The exhibition It’s Not About Me not only showcases some of Gorman’s most iconic works, but also provides a much broader overview of his brilliant portraiture. From Hollywood stars to visual artists and famous musicians, Gorman has always found the perfect mood and setting to capture these distinct personalities while maintaining his unique visual style. Gorman’s portraits have gone on to become photographic milestones with timeless, universal appeal and always a step above the rest.

Greg Gorman. It´s Not About Me

bis 15. Dezember 2021 // IMMAGIS ART PHOTOGRAPHY, München

Noch bis zum 15. Dezember 2021 zeigt die Münchner Galerie IMMAGIS ART PHOTOGRAPHY die neueste Ausstellung des legendären Fotografen Greg Gorman. Unter dem Titel „It’s Not About Me“ zeigt die Schau meisterhafte Porträts aus dessen gleichnamigen Buch, welches 2020 bei teNeues erschienen ist. Eine erste Präsentation ausgewählte Bilder war bereits im Frühjahr 2021 in Gormans amerikanischer Galerie Fahey/Klein zu sehen. IMMAGIS ist die erste Station der Ausstellung außerhalb der USA.

Gorman ist für seine atemberaubenden und unvergesslichen Bilder bekannt. In den letzten 50 Jahren hat der Fotograf ein schier unendliches, eindrucksvolles und unverwechselbares Lebenswerk zusammengetragen, welches für feinste Porträt- und Starfotografie steht. Sein Geheimnis: der meisterhafte Umgang mit Licht und die uneingeschränkte Konzentration auf sein Gegenüber. Ganz im Sinne des Ausstellungstitels geht es dabei nicht um den Fotografen – oder etwa doch?

Die Liste der porträtierten Stars spricht für sich selbst: Von Keanu Reeves, Laura Dern, John Waters, Sophia Loren und Al Pacino bis hin zu Tom Waits, Alfred Hitchcock, Hugh Jackman, David Hockney, und Johnny Depp ebenso wie Leonardo DiCaprio, Sharon Stone, Michael Jackson, Brad Pitt, Robert De Niro und Marina Abramović sind alle vertreten. Und natürlich ist ein besonderer Abschnitt Gormans langjährigen Freunden David Bowie, Grace Jones und Elton John, den er erst kürzlich erneut fotografierte, gewidmet.

Die Ausstellung „It’s Not About Me“ zeigt jedoch nicht nur Gormans Ikonen, sondern gewährt auch einen breiten Überblick über seine brillante Porträtfotografie. Von Hollywoodstars über Künstler*innen und berühmte Musiker*innen hat Greg Gorman immer die perfekte Stimmung und Umgebung gefunden, um diese so unterschiedlichen Persönlichkeiten einzufangen und gleichzeitig seinem einzigartigen visuellen Stil treu zu bleiben. Auf diese Weise wurden seine Porträts zu Meilensteinen der zeitgenössischen Fotografie, mit zeitlosem, universellem Reiz und immer einem gewissen Abstand zu den Kollegen.