EROS & PHOTOGRAPHY

Opening: 15 October 2020, 9 pm, at CHAUSSEE 36

Following the completion of an elaborate extension and renovation work in 2019/2020, the renowned exhibition space CHAUSSEE 36 in the heart of Berlin-Mitte will re-launch with two top-class exhibitions – which could not be more different. The group exhibition Behind Desire takes a critical look at the notion of eroticism shaped by patriarchy. Thematically, it follows the spring 2019 exhibition, Women on View – Aesthetics of Desire in Advertising, in which CHAUSSEE 36 critically examined the eroticization of women’s bodies in advertising.

Behind Desire marks the start of the exhibition series EROS & PHOTOGRAPHY and introduces the multifaceted, complex, and powerful implications of eroticism. The exhibition not only aims to foster a comprehensive understanding of eroticism through an aesthetic investigation of the topic, but also to enable visitors to confront their own Eros, looking beyond gender and sexual orientation. In a world in which sex is available with a swipe of a finger and pornography has become omnipresent – what is the significance of eroticism?

The group exhibition Behind Desire – with works by Nobuyoshi Araki, Gilles Berquet, Lucien Clergue, Daidō Moriyama, Herb Ritts, Jeanloup Sieff, Evangeline, Eva Ionesco, and Ellen von Unwerth, as well as Renaud de Gambs, Thomas Hodges, and Gérard Musy, among others – introduces the various facets of eroticism and examines the mechanisms of desire in fine art photography. For the first time, works will be shown from the Collection de Gambs, which specializes in nudes and erotic photography. Also premiering is the series Les Confessions by New York-based photographer Laurent Elie Badessi, who has researched the city’s BDSM scene in depth.

EROS & PHOTOGRAPHY

Bis 23. Januar 2021, in der CHAUSSEE 36

Nach der Beendigung der aufwendigen Ausbau- und Renovierungsarbeiten in 2019/2020 wartet der renommierte Ausstellungsort CHAUSSEE 36 im Herzen von Berlin-Mitte mit gleich zwei hochkarätig besetzten Ausstellungen auf, die unterschiedlicher nicht sein könnten. Während sich die CHAUSSEE 36 im Frühjahr 2019 in Form der Gruppenausstellung „Women on View – Aesthetics of Desire in Advertising“ kritisch mit der Erotisierung der Frauen in der Werbung auseinandersetzte, wird mit „Behind Desire“ ein kritischer Blick auf die vom Patriarchat geprägte Vorstellung von Erotik geworfen.

„Behind Desire“ eröffnet die Ausstellungsreihe EROS & PHOTOGRAPHY und weckt das Bewusstsein für die vielseitige, zum Teil komplexe, mächtige Bedeutung der Erotik. Die Ausstellung soll nicht nur ein umfangreiches Verständnis der Erotik herbeiführen und die Thematik auf ästhetische Art und Weise beleuchten, sondern darüber hinaus dem Besucher eine Begegnung mit dem eigenen Eros ermöglichen, jenseits von Gender und sexueller Orientierung. In einer Welt, in der Sex mit einem Fingerwisch verfügbar und Pornografie allgegenwärtig geworden ist – welchen Stellenwert hat noch die Erotik?

Die Gruppenausstellung Behind Desire mit Werken von u. a. Nobuyoshi Araki, Gilles Berquet, Lucien Clergue, Mona Kuhn, Daidō Moriyama, Herb Ritts, Jeanloup Sieff, Evangeline, Eva Ionesco und Ellen von Unwerth sowie De Gambs, Thomas Hodges und Gérard Musy möchte in die verschiedenen Facetten der Erotik einführen und die Mechanismen des Begehrens in der künstlerischen Fotografie untersuchen. Zum ersten Mal werden hierfür u. a. Werke aus der privaten Sammlung de Gambs gezeigt, die sich auf Akt und erotische Fotografie spezialisiert hat…