EMOP Berlin 2020

1 - 31 October 2020, in more than 100 Berlin-based institutions

The 9th edition of EMOP Berlin — European Month of Photography will take place from 1—31 October 2020. More than 100 Berlin museums, galleries, cultural institutions, embassies, alternative art spaces, project spaces, and photography schools will offer a wide range of exhibitions and events showcasing the beloved and celebrated medium in all its diversity. This year’s main theme is Europe — Identity, Crisis, Future. Further topics such as 30 years of German reunifiation and 100 years of Greater Berlin, as well as classical genres such as portrait, architectural, and fashion photography will also be represented.

Thanks to its decentralized program with numerous partner institutions and parallel exhibitions, EMOP Berlin can take place in autumn regardless of any possible restrictions due to the coronavirus pandemic. Suitable measures regarding entrances and other hygiene requirements will be taken in response to the situation as needed.

In 2016 and 2018, the EMOP Opening Days were held at C/O Berlin Foundation in Amerika Haus to kick off the festival. This year, Kulturprojekte Berlin is working together with Akademie der Künste; the EMOP Opening Days will take place from 2—4 October at Pariser Platz. Under the main theme of Photography between Art, Politics, and Mass Media, an extensive program with internationally renowned photographers, curators, media experts, and journalists will be offered. Panel discussions, artist talks, discursive events, a fim program, and guided tours of the exhibition by the photographers of OSTKREUZ will mark the beginning of this year’s Month of Photography.

EMOP Berlin 2020

1. - 31. Oktober 2020, in mehr als 100 Berliner Institutionen

Vom 1. — 31. Oktober 2020 findet die 9. Ausgabe des EMOP BerlinEuropean Month of Photography statt. Mehr als 100 Berliner Museen, Galerien, Kulturinstitutionen, Botschaften, Off-Spaces, Projekträume und Fotografie-Schulen bieten ein breit gefächertes Angebot an Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen, die das beliebte wie gefeierte Medium in seiner ganzen Vielseitigkeit zeigen. Schwerpunktthema ist in diesem Jahr Europa — Identität, Krise, Zukunft. Zudem sind weitere Themenkomplexe wie 30 Jahre Wiedervereinigung und 100 Jahre Groß-Berlin sowie klassische Genres wie Portrait-, Architektur- und Modefotografie vertreten.

Der EMOP Berlin kann aufgrund seiner dezentralen Ausrichtung mit einer Vielzahl von beteiligten Partnerinstitutionen und zahlreichen parallel laufenden Angeboten auch bei im Herbst ggf. noch notwendigen Einschränkungen durch die Corona-Pandemie realisiert werden. Bei Bedarf wird mit geeigneten Zugängen und zusätzlichen Maßnahmen auf die aktuelle Situation reagiert.

2016 und 2018 fanden zum Auftakt des Foto-Festivals die EMOP Opening Days bei der C/O Berlin Foundation im Amerika Haus statt. In diesem Jahr arbeitet Kulturprojekte Berlin mit der Akademie der Künste zusammen: die EMOP Opening Days werden vom 2. bis 4. Oktober am Pariser Platz präsentiert. Ausgehend von der Themenplattform „Die Fotografie zwischen Kunst, Politik und Massenmedium“ wird ein umfangreiches Programm mit international renommierten Fotograf*innen, Kurator*innen, Medienexpert*innen und Publizist*innen geboten. Paneldiskussionen, Künstlergespräche, Diskussionsveranstaltungen, ein Filmprogramm sowie Führungen der OSTKREUZ-Fotograf*innen durch die Ausstellung bilden den Auftakt des diesjährigen Fotomonats.